Creating, Editing, and Deleting a Group

< Back
A group also known as a department, is where the visitor/ customer will route their Instant Messages to. The groups will display in a dropdown list on the “Chat Request From” for the Visitor to choose from. By default, we have created a ‘Demo’ group and have assigned the Admin user to this group. You can access this page by going to: https/enablingchat.com/companyname/Demo.

To Create a Group, click on the  button and begin filling in your desired information.


  • Name: This is the name of your Group/ Department. These names will display on the dropdown menu of the main Chat Request Form. Ex… Support, Sales, Customer Service.
  • Email: This is the main email address for the associated Group/ Department. This email address can be a distribution group and will be used by the web visitor when there are no available agents to chat with. The web visitor will have the option to email this group.
  • Is Formal: This is if you want users to opt in and out of a specific group. Users can opt in and out from the “My Groups” tab.
  • Greeting: This is the greeting that will display when the chat conversation between the agent and the visitor first connects.
  • Routing Method: This section will determine how the Instant Messages are routed for that Group/ Department.


Note: Instant messages are different from phone calls, for example there is no such thing as an answer condition after the invitation is sent. When an Instant Message is sent, it is similar to sending a text message… you won’t know whether or not they have received it. With that in mind…

  • Parallel: When the customer sends the chat request, the invites are sent to all agents who have their Skype Presence set to Available in that group. For those agents who have their Skype status set to Busy, Away or Offline, you’ll notice that no chat requests was sent.
    • Training: If two Agents decide to click on the Instant Message invite, they will be answering the same chat. If a coworker sees someone else is responding to this chat request, they would need to back out and close that conversation. Agents will have to be mindful that they are all receiving that chat requests and that they could all respond or reply at the same time. Unlike a phone call there is no way for Skype to retract a message once it has been sent.
  • Round Robin: The first time that the Instant Message request is sent from the customer, it will go to the first available agent in that agents Group list. Once that agent has accepted the invite, then the second requests that is sent will go to the next available agent in that list… If an agent has their status set to Busy, Away or Offline, then the routing engine will skip that agent and automatically go to the next available agent down the line. 
    • Training: If an agent has their status set to available and they do not accept and admit the Instant Message Invite, then after the ‘Invite Timeout’ the customer will have the option to send an email to that group. There is no failover option at this time where it will reroute the invite to another User/ Agent.

  • Longest idle: Longest Idle will route the instant message request to the agent whose Skype presence has been set ‘Available’ for the longest. 
    • Training: When you answer an Instant message as a Skype user, your presence does not change like it does when you’re in a phone call…to (in a call or red.) If Agent 1 has been available for 10 minutes and Agent 2 has been available for five minutes, that IM chat request will be sent to Agent 1, and even though Agent 1 accepted that Instant Message request, they would still be the longest idol because their presence did not change. To manage this, the agents would need to set their status to busy when they receive the request and then back to available to start receiving instant messages again.

  • Invite Timeout: This is the number of seconds the visitor will wait for an available agent to answer before displaying an email option. Seconds are displayed in milliseconds for ex: 30 seconds would be displayed as 30000 milliseconds.
  • Commands:
    • Update: Click the “Update” button to save your created group.
    • Cancel: Click the “Cancel” button to disregard any changes made, or to simply go back.

Edit a Group: To edit a group, simply click the button and begin editing the desired fields.
Delete a Group: To delete a group, simply click the  button. You will be prompted and will need to verify your deletion.
2018-05-10T21:21:10+00:00